– Photo of Effon-Ekiti Church, western Nigeria, in 1916 –

ni-lgflag  Federal Republic of Nigeria

Area: 924,000 sq. km.
Population: 133 million.
Population Growth Rate: 2.5%
Abuja, Federal Capital Territory

Head of State:

President Goodluck Jonathan

1 October 1960.
Ethnic Groups: 250 ethnic groups; the following are the most populous: Hausa/ Fulani 29%, Yoruba 21%, Igbo (Ibo) 18%, Ijaw 10%, Kanuri 4%, Ibibio 3.5%, Tiv 2.5%
Religions: Muslim 50%, Christian 40%, indigenous beliefs 10%

The Society of African Missions (SMA) first arrived in Nigeria in 1863.
The first SMA missionary was Fr Francesco Borghero from Italy.
He established a mission at Lagos.

Nigeria is and has been for many years the hub of SMA activity of the Irish Province in Africa.
SMA members, from several parts of the Society, work in the following Dioceses / Territories:

Abuja Archdiocese
Benin City Archdiocese
Jos Archdiocese
Kaduna Archdiocese
Ibadan Archdiocese
Lagos Archdiocese

Bauchi Diocese
Ilorin diocese
Issele-Uku diocese
Kafanchan diocese
Kano diocese
Lafia diocese
Makurdi diocese
Ondo diocese
Uromi diocese

Kontagora Vicariate Apostolic

Apostolic Nuncio:

Most Rev Archbishop Augustine Kasujja
Apostolic Nuncio
Embassy of the Holy See
Pope John Paul II Crescent
Plot 3133
Tel: +234-9-4138381
Fax: +234-9-4136653
@ [email protected]


Previous articleNiger
Next articleSouth Africa 2012