Archdiocese of Lusaka, Zambia

The Archdiocese of Lusaka, Zambia

Erected 25 April 1959
Area 64,000 sq kilometers
Population 3,225,098
Catholics 729,896
Priests 208
Permanent deacons  1
Religious 892

The territory was erected as the Prefecture Apostolic of Broken Hill on 14 July 1927
The name was changed to the Prefecture Apostolic of Lusaka on 13 June 1946
It was elevated to be the Vicariate Apostolic of Lusaka on 14 July 1950

Most Rev Telesphore George Mpundu

Archbishop Mpundu was born at Kopeka on 21 May 1947
He was ordained priest on 17 Dec 1972
He was appointed Bishop of Mbala on 7 Mar 1987 and ordained bishop on 21 Jun 1987.
On 1 Oct 2004 he was appointed Coadjutor Archbishop of Lusaka, Zambia and succeeded on 28 October 2006


Cathedral of the Child Jesus, Lusaka

P O Box 32754, 41 Wamulwa Road, 10101 Lusaka

Telephone: +260-211-239 257   or   +260-211-291 625
Fax:              +260-211-290631


Former Archbishops:
Emmanuel Milingo was appointed on 29 May 1969 and resigned on 6 Aug 1983
Medardo Joseph Mazombwe was appointed 30 Nov 1996 and retired 28 October 2006



Interior of the Cathedral


SMA in the Archdiocese

5 SMA’s work are working in the Archdiocese.

Fr Patrick Barry (Cork) and Fr James O’Kane (Tyrone) work in the Parish of Chainda-Ibex Hill.

SMA Transit House
PO Box 320311
Woodlands P O
Street address: 33 Great East Road, Chelston, Lusaka

Tel: +260-211-281633
@    [email protected]

Fr Paraic Kelly (Galway) and Fr Michael O’Shea (Cork) work in St Augustine’s Major seminary, Mpima

St Augustine’s Major Seminary
P O Box 81011

Tel +260-976 647052
@    [email protected]

Fr Joseph Marwa (Tanzania) is the Superior of the SMA Formation House, Kabwe

SMA Fathers
P O Box 80692

Tel +260-215-221170
@    [email protected]


The Archdiocese of Lusaka has six Suffragen Dioceses: Chipata, Livingstone, Mongu, Monze, Ndola and Solwezi.

Previous articleDiocese of Ndola, Zambia 2011
Next articleZimbabwe_Appeal